Lagos State Judicial Service Commission

The Lagos State Judicial Service Commission was actually inaugurated as Judicial Service Committee in 1980 by the first Executive Governor of the State, Alhaji Lateef KayodeJakande with Hon. Justice AdetunjiAdefarasin who was then the Chief Judge of Lagos State as its first Chairman. It was however reconstituted and changed to Judicial Service Commission in May 1999 during the tenure of Hon. Justice S.O. Adagun as the State Chief Judge and its Chairman respectively. The change from Committee to Commission was in line with the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

Judicial Service Commission is a statutory body responsible for among other things, the appointment, promotion and disciplinary control of Judicial and non-Judicial Staff of the Lagos State Judiciary. The Chairman of the Commission is the Honourable Chief Judge. Other members are the State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice and four other members including Secretary to the Commission who are duly appointed by the Governor of the State.

It is a common establishment under Chapter VI Section 197 (1) (C) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria with its composition, functions and powers set out in part II of the Third Schedule of the Constitution. Its functions are similar in scope and nature with those of the Civil Service Commission, the State Independent Electoral Commission and Local Government Service Commission. According to Sections 202 and 204 of the 1999 Constitution, the State Judicial Service Commission may make its own regulations. The constitution provides that in the exercise of its powers, the State Judicial ServiceCommission, like the State Civil Service Commission andState Independent Electoral Commission, shall not be subject to the directives and control of any other authority or person.

The Lagos State Judicial Service Commission since its inception in 1980 had moved its office from place to place and finally, settled down at its present permanent site Oba Akinjobi Way, Opposite Police College, G.R.A., Ikeja. The new office complex was officially commissioned on Tuesday, 12th March, 2013 by the Governor of Lagos State, His Excellency, Mr. BabatundeRajiFashola, SAN, during which he directed that the building be named and referred to as “ADETUNJIADEFARASIN HOUSE” in honour of Hon. Justice AdetunjiAdefarasin, the second (2nd) Chief Judge of the State and the longest serving Chief Judge (1st November, 1974 – 24th January, 1985) to date.